The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2012, 11:16 PM
Tom Paulachak's Avatar
Tom Paulachak is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Getting just the price to display in blog pages


Hello all. I am using Wordpress for the bulk of my site, and dedicated specific Wordpress pages to detail the products and felt that it was better to leave the actual purchasing and customization of the product in the browser widget.

So in the end I do the real selling in the browser widget, and list a base price with a link to the product in the browser widget. The problem is when I have to update the pricing due to fluctuations in the market I end up having to edit the page after I edit the product in the control panel.

Is there a way to grab just the price so that it dynamically updates in the blog?
  #2  
Old 04-12-2012, 11:21 AM
Matt Ecwid's Avatar
Matt Ecwid Matt Ecwid is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Paulachak View Post
Hello all. I am using Wordpress for the bulk of my site, and dedicated specific Wordpress pages to detail the products and felt that it was better to leave the actual purchasing and customization of the product in the browser widget.

So in the end I do the real selling in the browser widget, and list a base price with a link to the product in the browser widget. The problem is when I have to update the pricing due to fluctuations in the market I end up having to edit the page after I edit the product in the control panel.

Is there a way to grab just the price so that it dynamically updates in the blog?
Hello,

Ecwid widgets (in particular, product browser widget) are instantly updated when some changes in your catalog take place - you just need to refresh the storefront page in browser. Ecwid integration code doesn't contain the products or categories data - it contains Javascript codes that get needed information from Ecwid servers dynamically. That's very convenient - if you change something in your control panel and click 'Save', it automatically applies to all of your storefronts. No manual correction is needed.

On the other hand, when you use plain HTML codes for displaying the product or category details somewhere on your site, apparently, the changes cannot be automatically transferred. Single product widgets actually use that approach - since they are mostly HTML, you can change them as you want and paste anywhere, but you'll have to update the code manually if something (e.g. price) is changed.

If you are interested in building a custom layout with your products and want it to be updated automatically, you can consider using Ecwid Product API in your custom scripts. Such scripts will get product/cartegories data from Ecwid servers and display it in a desired manner. Since that data is always up to date, you won't have to manually change anything. Please refer to this article for the information of Ecwid product API:
http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/25285101/Product%20API

If you need help with development of such a mod for your Ecwid store, our colleagues from Qualiteam will be glad to help you. If you are interested in it, please contact them at sales@qtmsoft.com .
__________________
Matt K
Ecwid Team

Ecwid Guide for Beginners

Ecwid Help Center

Ecwid video tutorials
  #3  
Old 11-04-2012, 12:24 AM
MVP Sports Nutrition's Avatar
MVP Sports Nutrition MVP Sports Nutrition is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Default How to make single product widget "smart"

I have a client who wanted to highlight 6 products on the frontpage of their site. I did it by pasting in the HTML code generated in the EWCID backend. But there's a big con with this method.

Whenever details are updated in EWCID this is not displayed in the "Featured products" because the code is "dumb". It has everything in the code as constants and not dynamics variables with pull info from the main database. So just a simple change of price requires a manual edit of the featured product.

Is there any way to make these "smart"? It will require the code to read the DB to pull images, prices, etc from it I'm guessing.
  #4  
Old 11-06-2012, 02:50 PM
Matt Ecwid's Avatar
Matt Ecwid Matt Ecwid is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MVP Sports Nutrition View Post
I have a client who wanted to highlight 6 products on the frontpage of their site. I did it by pasting in the HTML code generated in the EWCID backend. But there's a big con with this method.

Whenever details are updated in EWCID this is not displayed in the "Featured products" because the code is "dumb". It has everything in the code as constants and not dynamics variables with pull info from the main database. So just a simple change of price requires a manual edit of the featured product.

Is there any way to make these "smart"? It will require the code to read the DB to pull images, prices, etc from it I'm guessing.
Hi,

Please refer to this post:
http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthre...0311#post50311
__________________
Matt K
Ecwid Team

Ecwid Guide for Beginners

Ecwid Help Center

Ecwid video tutorials
  #5  
Old 03-18-2014, 04:13 PM
Matt Ecwid's Avatar
Matt Ecwid Matt Ecwid is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,947
Default

UPDATE: Single Product Widget in Ecwid has been improved.

All product fields including title, price and options are now automatically updated as you change the product in your Ecwid control panel. Also, single product widget now supports quantity field so your customer can add multiple items at once.

To access the new features, copy the new code from the 'HTML code' tab under product management page in Ecwid control panel and paste it to your site - new single product widget will appear there. Screenshot: http://take.ms/I2LgC
__________________
Matt K
Ecwid Team

Ecwid Guide for Beginners

Ecwid Help Center

Ecwid video tutorials
 
The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11. Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.