The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2010, 11:20 PM
Warrior Products's Avatar
Warrior Products Warrior Products is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default Feature I'd like to see (backordering)

I posted it on the uservoice forum.

Often times I'll run out of a shirt or a hat,and I'd like to keep tracking that inventory on the store. But when they go out of stock, they become unavailable for purchase.

I'd like a setting to allow backorders to be place. It'd be nice if it showed that it was out of stock, but allowed the customer to place a backorder.

It'd have to be per product though, cause I sell alot of clearance stuff with a single quantity inventory, and on those items...when they sell, I don't want anyone to be able to place a backorder.

Here's the link:
http://ideas.ecwid.com/forums/22031-...-stock-orderin
  #2  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:37 AM
Ecwid Made Easy.com's Avatar
Ecwid Made Easy.com Ecwid Made Easy.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 307
Default

I thought it was possible to order out of stock products if you:

Step 1
Make sure "Hide out of stock products" in [system settings - cart] is not ticked

Step 2
In stock control for each product you need to control the "Quantity In Stock".

For those products that can be back ordered set this to "unlimited".

For those products that cannot be re-ordered select "Limited To" and enter your stock quantity.

All that is missing from Ecwid is a label that says "On backorder" when the quantity reaches zero, similar to "out of stock". Perhaps some custom javascript would do the trick in the meantime.
  #3  
Old 01-15-2010, 03:10 PM
Warrior Products's Avatar
Warrior Products Warrior Products is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elevated Aspects View Post
I thought it was possible to order out of stock products if you:

Step 1
Make sure "Hide out of stock products" in [system settings - cart] is not ticked

Step 2
In stock control for each product you need to control the "Quantity In Stock".

For those products that can be back ordered set this to "unlimited".

For those products that cannot be re-ordered select "Limited To" and enter your stock quantity.

All that is missing from Ecwid is a label that says "On backorder" when the quantity reaches zero, similar to "out of stock". Perhaps some custom javascript would do the trick in the meantime.
Not exactly, the Unlimited disregards the in stock quantity, basically disables the inventory tracking on that particular product, so it just continually says "in stock" on the storefront. I'd like to be able to have it say "0 available" when its out of stock, but still allow people to order it.
  #4  
Old 01-15-2010, 03:55 PM
Ecwid Made Easy.com's Avatar
Ecwid Made Easy.com Ecwid Made Easy.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 307
Default

I personally wouldn't order if a quantity said "0".

What about if you did this.

Set all products to limited stock. Set the email when stock is low to say 2.

When the reorderable products reach that level you just switch the stock control to unlimited. You will also need to add a note to the product description saying it is on back order.

Or you might be able to hack this mod: http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthre...ght=call+price to put up a label saying on back order.
  #5  
Old 01-15-2010, 04:14 PM
Warrior Products's Avatar
Warrior Products Warrior Products is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elevated Aspects View Post
I personally wouldn't order if a quantity said "0".

What about if you did this.

Set all products to limited stock. Set the email when stock is low to say 2.

When the reorderable products reach that level you just switch the stock control to unlimited. You will also need to add a note to the product description saying it is on back order.

Or you might be able to hack this mod: http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthre...ght=call+price to put up a label saying on back order.
We're a manufacturer, and not a warehouse, so our customers know that often times we don't build specific products until they are sold. We wouldn't be using a function like that on every product, just a select few here and there.

From our business standpoint, people don't mind backorders nearly as much as one might think.
  #6  
Old 01-15-2010, 11:56 AM
Qetzal's Avatar
Qetzal Qetzal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrior Products View Post
I posted it on the uservoice forum.

Often times I'll run out of a shirt or a hat,and I'd like to keep tracking that inventory on the store. But when they go out of stock, they become unavailable for purchase.

I'd like a setting to allow backorders to be place. It'd be nice if it showed that it was out of stock, but allowed the customer to place a backorder.

It'd have to be per product though, cause I sell alot of clearance stuff with a single quantity inventory, and on those items...when they sell, I don't want anyone to be able to place a backorder.

Here's the link:
http://ideas.ecwid.com/forums/22031-...-stock-orderin
Agree, it's a nice feature.
__________________
Eugene K.
Ecwid Team

@ecwid | Facebook | Ecwid Knowledge Base
  #7  
Old 11-12-2010, 03:58 PM
Verne Packer's Avatar
Verne Packer Verne Packer is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Backordering is ESSENTIAL: So here is my idea for a workaround (just need some guidance?):

I am a Paid Member, so the "Powered by Ecwid.com" link is hidden, but I found it with FireBug:

<a class="ecwid-poweredBy" href="http://www.ecwid.com/?utm_source=ecwid-stores&amp;utm_medium=powered-by-link&amp;utm_campaign=Ecwid%2Bstores" target="_blank" style="display: none;">Powered by Ecwid</a>

If I change the Hyperlink to point to my Hidden Category "Backorder", and duplicate all of my store's structure (categories and products) as "children' of that Hidden category, and set their quantities to 'Unlimited" -- Then, when my customer sees "Out of Stock" they just click that "backorder" button to load the hidden mirror of my store???

This way they can order those "out-of-stock" products (with a note above the description warning them that they are "placing a back order and delivery will be in two to three weeks") AND i still get notifications that I am low or out of that product.

I would alos place a link in the products description saying "Click Here to Return to the Main Store".

I hope to hear from someone on this soon , my store is set to launch on our Social Network on Monday 11/15/2010 !!!

I will experiment until then ECWID ROCKS !!!
  #8  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:22 PM
Ecwid Made Easy.com's Avatar
Ecwid Made Easy.com Ecwid Made Easy.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 307
Default

Verne - sounds like a good workaround in principal, but how do you plan to hide the category so nobody will stumble across it accidentally?
  #9  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:45 PM
Verne Packer's Avatar
Verne Packer Verne Packer is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Andrew,

I have created a "Backorder" category and then disabled it, now I am puting a "backorder" button into the top-right of the product description and linking it directly to the enabled categories that are children of the disabled one.

Problem: I also have used the CSS to hide "breadcrumbs" (so the customer does not find the Backorder category) and also to hide the Subcategory Icons in the Product Browser (so the customer is led to navigate using only the Category Tab widget with cascading Subcategories). Because of this setup, I can not simply link the "Backorder" button directly to the main Subcategory under Backorder (Backorder > Apperal) since if I do - the Product Browser will only show the word "Apperal" which is not clickable.

So, now I figure i will have to link each individual product's "backorder Button" directly to its Mirrored unlimited stock counter-part?

Is there a better way?
  #10  
Old 11-12-2010, 06:35 PM
Ecwid Made Easy.com's Avatar
Ecwid Made Easy.com Ecwid Made Easy.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 307
Default

There might be a way using custom javascript.

Logic behind it would be:

If product quantity = 0 show message this item is on backorder.
Closed Thread
The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11. Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.