The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2013, 11:55 PM
Catherine Campbell's Avatar
Catherine Campbell is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Tabbed descriptions - need jquery in the head tag


Hi

I am using the tabs widget from the knowledgebase:
http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/62270691/How%20to%20add%20tabs%20in%20product%20description "

Quote:
The instructions say:
1. Install jQuery and jQuery libraries to your site. Place following code before </head> tag on the source page of your site/template:

Code:
<script  type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.3/jquery.min.js"></script>

<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jqueryui/1.9.2/jquery-ui.min.js"></script>
If I do that the tabs do not appear. I found on the forum another description of tabs [URL="http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13037[/URL] that said to get the code to work put that javascript include, onto the desired page you need just before your ECWID code IE: your actual store page. I have a Joomla site so put the code in front of the rest of the shop code in a module. This fixed the problem.

Further down the line I am getting jquery issues, any ideas what I might need to do in order to put the jquery calls in the head tags and work?

Any suggestions to consider would be very much appreciated as I have been trying to sort this for several days now.

The site is not yet live so I cannot provide a link.

Thanks
Suzanne

Last edited by Catherine Campbell; 04-08-2013 at 11:55 PM. Reason: dud link
  #2  
Old 04-10-2013, 02:43 PM
Eugene Rimmer's Avatar
Eugene Rimmer Eugene Rimmer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ecwid headquarters
Posts: 7,765
Default

What is the URL address of the page where that happens?
  #3  
Old 04-10-2013, 06:22 PM
Catherine Campbell's Avatar
Catherine Campbell Catherine Campbell is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Hi Eugene, thanks for your reply.

I am using ECWID with Zen Tools from Joomlabamboo. Zen Tools requires jb_library. I know there are forum posts of issues with jb_library but I think I almost have it right.

To try and learn how to get ECWID/JB_library and Zen Tools to play together, I have put a fresh install of Joomla 2.5.9 on a test domain and installed no other extensions than Anycode, the latest JB_Library and Zen Tools.

I am using the default sample code from the ECWID dashboard with one (Official ECWID) widget added.
The basic shop works fine with Zen Tools/JB_library but the widget (Creates tabs in the product description) requires that I add jquery paths in the head of the template and that creates problems.

Widget description:
http://tinyurl.com/bpsul8s


I am using Beez 20 template.

On this template I was able to put the paths the jquery files in the head but the tabs script only worked at the same time as the Zen Tools lightbox if I put the paths in an additional bit of code to what was described in the ECWID knowledgebase. Not sure where I found that bit of function code or what is really does but I tried it and it mostly works..

Code:
$(function(){ //
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.3/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jqueryui/1.9.2/jquery-ui.min.js"></script>
});
Now Zen Tools lightbox and ECWID tabs are working OK on this test site - the only remaining issue that concerns me is that the code below is appearing at the top of all my pages...

Code:
$(function(){ // });

All the error messages showing in my firebug console relate to "TypeError: jQuery(...).jackBox is not a function"


The JB_library settings are default with the exception that JQuery noconflict had to be disabled for the tabs and Zen Tools to work. I cannot see anywhere that ECWID gives control of scripts in theor control panel.

Any suggestions as how to get rid of that bit of code appearing at the top of my pages? I am also asking this on the Joomlabamboo forum, but thought it might be worth looking at from an ECWID point of view too.

Site URL
http://79.170.44.128/test-13.co.uk/

Many thanks
  #4  
Old 04-13-2013, 10:24 AM
Catherine Campbell's Avatar
Catherine Campbell Catherine Campbell is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default Tabbed descriptions - need jquery in the head

UPDATE:

I have a fresh install of Joomla 2.5.9, the only added extensions are jb_library , Zen Tools and Anycode. I am using a Joomla template Beez 20.

I am using an ECWID shop with a widget that requires me to call jquery in the head of the template.

It seemed at first that only way I could get that to work and have Zen Tools lightbox with the widget was to put my code in a function tag in the template head like this

HTML Code:
$(function () {<s-cript  type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.3/jquery.min.js"></s-cript>

<s-cript src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jqueryui/1.9.2/jquery-ui.min.js"></s-cript>
});
(My change of script to s-cript for this post).

Lightbox and widet were both working but

(function () });

was displaying at the top of all my pages.

I have since found that I can get both widget and lightbox at the same time without the function code as long as I add a character of some sort after the Javascript declarations. Even a full-stop. This character will display at the top of all my pages but the shop widget and lightbox will both now work at the same time.

The next step must be to find why adding a character after the script declaration in the head of the template makes the widget and lightbox both work together...(I am a newbie to this sort of coding).

Any suggestions anyone?
Site URL (Note the exclamation mark at top center of page- that is the character I have added after my declaration in this instance):
http://79.170.44.128/test-13.co.uk/

Code:
<script  type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.3/jquery.min.js"></script>

<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jqueryui/1.9.2/jquery-ui.min.js"></script>!


</head>
  #5  
Old 04-16-2013, 07:02 PM
Catherine Campbell's Avatar
Catherine Campbell Catherine Campbell is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

SOLVED

Joomlabamboo tried a new alpha version of Zen Tools that worked. (My version with bug was the latest available for download at the time JB_mod_zentools_J2.5_J3.0_1.9.6). The developer also wrote that after version 1.9.7 it will be an standalone extension so it is not going to need jb_library.

BTW JB-library is a free extension, Zen Tools is a club extension.
 
The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Tags
jjb_library, jquery, tab descriptions, tabbed descriptions, tabs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11. Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.