The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Old 04-15-2014, 02:04 AM

Question

SEO - best solution for ECWID in a SquareSpace5 website

Hi,

I'm a new-ish user of ECWID. I've successfully got my store up and running in my SquareSpace5 website.

I really like ECWID (great job guys!) and I also really like SquareSpace5, which I've been using for a few years now.
I have no immediate plans to migrate to SquareSpace6 or to move to another platform, but it seems that SEO is a big problem for my store.

After much browsing, this is what I think I know:

1. I can't run the ajax indexing code on my site as SquareSpace doesn't allow php.
Otherwise, this would have been the best and most elegant solution. What a shame

2. I could create separate pages for each product, but as I already have 680 products and will soon have over 1000, this is too much work.

3. I can bind my mobile catalogue to my sub domain. (I've done this). I understand Google can crawl the mobile page normally without ajax indexing as it's generated by ECWID in HTML. Visitors from the search engine results page could follow a product link to my mobile site which will invite them to view the product in the full site.
However this is a rather inelegant workaround and I would expect a high number of users aborting at this stage without clicking through.

So - except for switching away from SquareSpace, which I'm very reluctant to do - are there any other options available?

Thank you for reading.

Richard

PS - my website is www.pentlandcomponents.com in case you need to know
Old 04-15-2014, 02:02 PM

Thank you very much for choosing Ecwid!

Glad to help you.

Ecwid is a very SEO friendly application, it supports google ajax indexing technology which most part of search engines(including google of course) uses.