The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2013, 04:04 PM
aw_'s Avatar
aw_ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Default

Manual way to get store indexed - would like an example of how to do this


Hi - I have a plain html site (not CMS) and want to use the "other way to get my store indexed" as described on the SEO page: http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/15853308/...mystoreindexed

Do you have an example I can follow that shows how to set this up?

I tried something similar with Ecwid last year, but the navigation got duplicated between the static html pages and Ecwid's php pages for categories and products.

Thanks!
  #2  
Old 04-25-2013, 01:37 PM
Matt Ecwid's Avatar
Matt Ecwid Matt Ecwid is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aw_ View Post
Hi - I have a plain html site (not CMS) and want to use the "other way to get my store indexed" as described on the SEO page: http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/15853308/...mystoreindexed

Do you have an example I can follow that shows how to set this up?

I tried something similar with Ecwid last year, but the navigation got duplicated between the static html pages and Ecwid's php pages for categories and products.

Thanks!
Hi,

What exactly do you want an example of? The article describes the approach:
- creating a static page on your site for every product or category you want to be indexed
- placing single product widgets or whole catalog with default category settings on that pages

The links to instructions on how to do it is listed under the description in knowledge base.

As far as I can see, you mean this thread:
http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthre...t=16062&page=2

So, please elaborate on this a bit - how can we help you?
__________________
Matt K
Ecwid Team

Ecwid Guide for Beginners

Ecwid Help Center

Ecwid video tutorials
  #3  
Old 11-08-2013, 05:42 PM
aw_'s Avatar
aw_ aw_ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Default Getting store indexed - example for static html pages

Hi - In your knowledgebase for SEO, you list an option for indexing by using static product and category pages that Google will index. http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/15853308/...mystoreindexed

Do you have an example or video that shows how best to do that?

Also, I think this will then create two versions for each product/categoryof your store, right? The static pages and the dynamic ECWID pages, right?

Thanks.
  #4  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:00 PM
aw_'s Avatar
aw_ aw_ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Default

Hi Matvey - Thanks for your reply.

I'd like an example of how to use a static page for SEO. The information just says to use a static page, but doesn't give details on what to put on the page.

For example, is it best to put the product information in html on that static page and in ECWID? Or do I leave that static html page blank with no product information and just add the ECWID widgets?

Or, is it best to leave the static page blank and then add a link to the ECWID product page for each item?

It's not clear in the instructions what to do with the static page and how to integrate it with ECWID to improve SEO and not confuse customers by having 2 pages for each product.

Thanks!
  #5  
Old 11-20-2013, 03:46 PM
Matt Ecwid's Avatar
Matt Ecwid Matt Ecwid is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,947
Default

Hi,

Sorry for the delay.

Basically, you put all the product information and images on a separate static page of your site and add an Add to bag button to it so your customer will be able to purchase that product. you can get the 'Add to bag' button code in your control panel on the product management page under the HTML tab.

Quote:
When I go into the ECWID store manager to Catalog > Products and then open a product, I have the option for html code (last tab to the right). Is that what you put on each product page? That didn't work so well for me, so I'm thinking there some other code that you put on the product page?
Why didn't that work for you? What seems to be an issue with that approach?
__________________
Matt K
Ecwid Team

Ecwid Guide for Beginners

Ecwid Help Center

Ecwid video tutorials
  #6  
Old 11-24-2013, 06:04 PM
aw_'s Avatar
aw_ aw_ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks for your quick reply.

But, adding just the shopping bag makes ECWID work completely as a popup. I don't want that.

I found the perfect example of how to use ECWID with a non CMS (wordpress or joomla) site. See www.smartseedstore.com for an example.

They were kind enough to provide instructions on how they setup their site at this thread: http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthre...7499#post97499

Google finds their product pages when you search by a product name. But, the URL changes when you're on that page from within the store. So, it's the perfect way to get SEO in a static site or anything that doesn't use Joomla or WordPress.

Please add more instructions on your SEO page to help others. And please don't change the way the JS and product widget scripts work!

Here's the steps:

1. Create an html page for your product with good metatags for keywords, title, subject, etc; and a clean URL for the product item.
2. Add the "Product Browser Widget Code" where you want the product info to appear. This calls directly from the info you enter into ECWID, not the text you add to the static html page.
3. Add the JS code under the Product Browser Widget Code. This is the most important part to make this work! JS code is at: http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/23947713/...default#JScode

That's it! It works amazingly well.

Please add these detailed instructions to your SEO page http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/15853308/...mystoreindexed You provide 2 steps for how to do it, but don't tell us what code to add. Please update this to provide clear instructions. There are so many people who can't use ECWID because they don't know how to setup their pages.

Thank you smartseedstore.com for figuring this out and for sharing this info!
  #7  
Old 11-27-2013, 12:30 PM
Matt Ecwid's Avatar
Matt Ecwid Matt Ecwid is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aw_ View Post
Thanks for your quick reply.

But, adding just the shopping bag makes ECWID work completely as a popup. I don't want that.

I found the perfect example of how to use ECWID with a non CMS (wordpress or joomla) site. See www.smartseedstore.com for an example.

They were kind enough to provide instructions on how they setup their site at this thread: http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthre...7499#post97499

Google finds their product pages when you search by a product name. But, the URL changes when you're on that page from within the store. So, it's the perfect way to get SEO in a static site or anything that doesn't use Joomla or WordPress.

Please add more instructions on your SEO page to help others. And please don't change the way the JS and product widget scripts work!

Here's the steps:

1. Create an html page for your product with good metatags for keywords, title, subject, etc; and a clean URL for the product item.
2. Add the "Product Browser Widget Code" where you want the product info to appear. This calls directly from the info you enter into ECWID, not the text you add to the static html page.
3. Add the JS code under the Product Browser Widget Code. This is the most important part to make this work! JS code is at: http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/23947713/...default#JScode

That's it! It works amazingly well.

Please add these detailed instructions to your SEO page http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/15853308/...mystoreindexed You provide 2 steps for how to do it, but don't tell us what code to add. Please update this to provide clear instructions. There are so many people who can't use ECWID because they don't know how to setup their pages.

Thank you smartseedstore.com for figuring this out and for sharing this info!
Thank you for the feedback. We'll consider clarifying this in our SEO article.
__________________
Matt K
Ecwid Team

Ecwid Guide for Beginners

Ecwid Help Center

Ecwid video tutorials
  #8  
Old 12-13-2013, 08:48 PM
aw_'s Avatar
aw_ aw_ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Default

Hi Matvey -

Question for you about best practices for code.

I've found three different code variations that seem to do the same thing for displaying a specific product on a page, as described above. They all seem to do basically the same thing.

Which is the best one to use? Which is the cleanest, correct code?

Option 1:
<!--js script add product id -->
<script>
if (!document.location.hash) {
document.location.hash = '!/~/product/id=17067578';
}
</script>

Option 2:

<script>
if (!document.location.hash) {
var ecwid_amp = String.fromCharCode(38);
document.location.hash = 'ecwid:category=0' + ecwid_amp + 'mode=product' + ecwid_amp + 'product=17067578';
}
</script>

Option 3 (from: http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6164):

<script>
if (!document.location.hash) { document.location.hash = '#ecwid:category=999903&mode=product&product=17067 578';
</script>

Thank you!
  #9  
Old 12-17-2013, 07:43 AM
Matt Ecwid's Avatar
Matt Ecwid Matt Ecwid is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aw_ View Post
Hi Matvey -

Question for you about best practices for code.

I've found three different code variations that seem to do the same thing for displaying a specific product on a page, as described above. They all seem to do basically the same thing.

Which is the best one to use? Which is the cleanest, correct code?

Option 1:
<!--js script add product id -->
<script>
if (!document.location.hash) {
document.location.hash = '!/~/product/id=17067578';
}
</script>

Option 2:

<script>
if (!document.location.hash) {
var ecwid_amp = String.fromCharCode(38);
document.location.hash = 'ecwid:category=0' + ecwid_amp + 'mode=product' + ecwid_amp + 'product=17067578';
}
</script>

Option 3 (from: http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6164):

<script>
if (!document.location.hash) { document.location.hash = '#ecwid:category=999903&mode=product&product=17067 578';
</script>

Thank you!
Hello,

Those codes do the same thing so you may use any of them. I'd prefer the option #1 as it uses the most actual URLs schema (with hash bang '#!' symbols). It is also recommended here: http://kb.ecwid.com/w/page/23947713/...default#JScode
__________________
Matt K
Ecwid Team

Ecwid Guide for Beginners

Ecwid Help Center

Ecwid video tutorials
 
The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Tags
categories, index, indexing, products, seo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11. Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.