The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Old 02-24-2013, 06:39 PM

This thread is more about the process as opposed to why. Ecwid is very pointed to say that they are serious about SEO, but yet refer everyone to Google AJAX documentation. I have read the documentation and must admit, still very confused. I am not a script developer and having a hard time understanding what I actually have to do in order to incorporate 'escaped_fragment' code. Here are the steps I have taken on my side:

Put the snippet of Meta code on the same page as the cart code.

I don't see information that recommends every page, but I do see recommendations to create a 'pretty' URL and a 'ugly' URL in the commentary. What in the world can I do as a consumer to actually conform to Google's requirements? Every article I read states that "Google does NOT like AJAX" and I am very concerned about this statement from so many resources. To be transparent, I am considering cancelling service with ecwid because of the documentation associated with the inability to rank within search engines.

The information with ecwid states: Go look at what Google says

I would expect more from an ecommerce provider that is about to lose customers to this ineffective SEO ranking situation to provide very detailed explanation of this process. More specifically, do I need to create a script? Do I need to include the meta tag simply in the header? I assume yes, but not clear. How I do implement 'escaped_ fragments'? Literally, how do I do it or is it done and the documentation is simply telling me that it's done already? The information states, 'These changes need to be made on the server'. Does that mean my account? or ecwid developers are involved with creating these adjustments? If yes, have they made the adjustments?