The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2012, 09:19 PM
KineretT's Avatar
KineretT is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Default

Subcategories problem - some of them do not show up on FB store.


I've added 11 sub-categories to one of my categories. This works fine on my website where the menu is vertical. However, on my FB shop, this seems to be too many - 7 show up and the rest disappear instead of making up a new row of tabs once the first row is filled.

Is there any solution to this?

my FB store is
http://www.facebook.com/WoolyRhinoce...p_251458316228
(look at the "yarns by color" tab).

My website is www.woolyrhino.com


Thanks!

Last edited by KineretT; 12-31-2012 at 09:22 PM.
  #2  
Old 01-03-2013, 10:30 AM
Maya's Avatar
Maya Maya is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ecwid headquarter
Posts: 5,876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KineretT View Post
I've added 11 sub-categories to one of my categories. This works fine on my website where the menu is vertical. However, on my FB shop, this seems to be too many - 7 show up and the rest disappear instead of making up a new row of tabs once the first row is filled.

Is there any solution to this?

my FB store is
http://www.facebook.com/WoolyRhinoce...p_251458316228
(look at the "yarns by color" tab).

My website is www.woolyrhino.com


Thanks!
I have checked your store and find only 6 subcategories inside the category. Could you confirm, if you still need our help with this and give me a correct link, where this problem can be reproduced?

Thank you in advance for your help.
__________________
Maya N., Ecwid Team

------------------
Welcome to our new Help Center!
  #3  
Old 01-03-2013, 11:57 AM
KineretT's Avatar
KineretT KineretT is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Default

I had 11 subcategories (colors) originally, but since making the font smaller and eliminating the spaces (and tab curve) to make the tabs closer together so that everything would fit, made the whole menu look odd (the main categories got crowded together as well), and since even then I only managed to get about 8 subcategories to show up, I simply gave it up and disabled the "color" category that contained them.

If there is some built-in way you can accommodate more than 4-5 categories, I'd love to know it. I've re-enabled the category so you can see what it looks like.

Thanks.

Last edited by KineretT; 01-03-2013 at 12:01 PM.
  #4  
Old 01-03-2013, 01:05 PM
Maya's Avatar
Maya Maya is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ecwid headquarter
Posts: 5,876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KineretT View Post
I had 11 subcategories (colors) originally, but since making the font smaller and eliminating the spaces (and tab curve) to make the tabs closer together so that everything would fit, made the whole menu look odd (the main categories got crowded together as well), and since even then I only managed to get about 8 subcategories to show up, I simply gave it up and disabled the "color" category that contained them.

If there is some built-in way you can accommodate more than 4-5 categories, I'd love to know it. I've re-enabled the category so you can see what it looks like.

Thanks.
The only way to fit 11 subcategories in one line on the Facebook page, is to decrease the font size and spaces between them. In order to do this you should use following code:
Code:
div.ecwid_facebook_app div.ecwid-categoriesMenuBar span.ecwid-categories-category {
font-size: 14px !important;
}
div.ecwid_facebook_app div.ecwid-categories-horizontal td.gwt-MenuItemSeparator div.menuSeparatorInner {
   width: 5px;
}
Please, try and let me know about results.
__________________
Maya N., Ecwid Team

------------------
Welcome to our new Help Center!
The Following User Says Thank You to Maya For This Useful Post:
KineretT (01-03-2013)
  #5  
Old 01-03-2013, 02:53 PM
KineretT's Avatar
KineretT KineretT is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Default

Thank you! That solves it beautifully.
  #6  
Old 01-24-2014, 04:52 AM
Rebekah Taylor's Avatar
Rebekah Taylor Rebekah Taylor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Default

I'm having the same issue. It's not showing all my menu across the top because of the font size and spacing. I've put in the code you showed and changed it to 10 and 3px, respectively. Nothing changed. I found this thread from following another's steps here, and I got to that after following this and this. Nothing is working.

I only have the horizontal menu by you guys on Facebook; I have my own on my site. Here is my Facebook page for reference.

Rebekah

ETA: Mine is for the main categories, not the subcategories. Is there a different piece of code or a change to it I need to make?

ETA: Nevermind! I just kept playing with it and ended up with this:

Code:
div.ecwid_facebook_app div.ecwid-categories span.ecwid-categories-category {
font-size: 18px !important;
}
div.ecwid_facebook_app div.ecwid-categoriesMenuBar span.ecwid-categories-category {
font-size: 16px !important;
}
div.ecwid_facebook_app div.ecwid-categories-horizontal td.gwt-MenuItemSeparator div.menuSeparatorInner {
   width: 3px;
}
It worked beautifully!

Last edited by Rebekah Taylor; 01-24-2014 at 05:04 AM.
 
The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11. Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.