The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2011, 11:12 AM
mohamed.hamouda's Avatar
mohamed.hamouda is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Link URL Address Store Problem


Dear Experts,

I'm using the "get_random_products" api to load my home page with random products.

And I've noticed when using iPad or iPhone, that all products links to the store page directly and not to the products itself. while when using my pc, it links normally to the product.

After investigating, I found that a "/" in the url is the cause of the problem.

The "url" property of the random function returns the link like this:

http://www.kanarywatches.com/index.p...roduct=3903617

This link will take you to the store page instead of the product page if you accessed it from the iPad or the iPhone.

While if you added a slash "/" after "store" and before "#ecwid" like this:

http://www.kanarywatches.com/index.p...roduct=3903617

It will work perfectly on Apple products.

Please check this bug and let me know how can we resolve it.

Best Regards,
Hamouda
  #2  
Old 06-05-2011, 06:53 PM
Eugene Rimmer's Avatar
Eugene Rimmer Eugene Rimmer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ecwid headquarters
Posts: 7,765
Default

This is not a bug of Ecwid. Basically, it's the same case as here: http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5753 , the browser does not process the URL correctly after redirect. Since it's the browser that doesn't process the URL correctly, there is nothing to do about that for Ecwid, because Ecwid loads after the redirect and already with corrupted URL. The only possible way to overcome this is to create such URLs that don't trigger any redirects - particularly in your case with / after 'store' (which you have already outlined in your post).
  #3  
Old 06-05-2011, 09:08 PM
mohamed.hamouda's Avatar
mohamed.hamouda mohamed.hamouda is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Thank you Eugene,

but how to add the slash inside the url?? I'm using the "url" property which retrieves the url directly!

Regards.
  #4  
Old 06-05-2011, 09:25 PM
Eugene Rimmer's Avatar
Eugene Rimmer Eugene Rimmer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ecwid headquarters
Posts: 7,765
Default

Then you need to just add the missing slash to the end of the store URL in Ecwid control panel, System Settings → General → Store profile, Store Front URL (http://awesomescreenshot.com/056eabyec).

The URLs returned by our Product API are made up of store front URL from your Ecwid settings and the part that directs Ecwid to the particular product or category page, so you need to have a storefront URL that does not make redirects. Add the final slash to it to have all your random product URLs working correctly.
  #5  
Old 06-13-2011, 03:54 PM
mohamed.hamouda's Avatar
mohamed.hamouda mohamed.hamouda is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Thank you very much Eugene. It worked fine now.
  #6  
Old 07-25-2012, 05:33 PM
iphigento's Avatar
iphigento iphigento is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Hello Eugene,

I'm facing the same link problem I'm using Ecwid with blogger and when I give a link to a customer like this :
http://www.ecwid.com/demo-frontend.h...t&product=4007
Customer can't see the shop they just see the HTML layout, only some customer have this problem ...

Me for example I have this problem when I try to resolve an Ecwin link from my Android phone brother ...

Is there anything can I do to solve this problem ?
  #7  
Old 07-27-2012, 02:02 PM
Matt Ecwid's Avatar
Matt Ecwid Matt Ecwid is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iphigento View Post
Hello Eugene,

I'm facing the same link problem I'm using Ecwid with blogger and when I give a link to a customer like this :
http://www.ecwid.com/demo-frontend.h...t&product=4007
Customer can't see the shop they just see the HTML layout, only some customer have this problem ...

Me for example I have this problem when I try to resolve an Ecwin link from my Android phone brother ...

Is there anything can I do to solve this problem ?
Hi,

Can you please provide the exact URLs that you used when discovered the issue?
__________________
Matt K
Ecwid Team

Ecwid Guide for Beginners

Ecwid Help Center

Ecwid video tutorials
 
The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Tags
link, slash, store

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:08 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11. Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.