The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2010, 06:50 AM
Juli Stertern-Gill's Avatar
Juli Stertern-Gill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

How do I change the width?


First up, thanks for making ecwid free.

I am trying to finalise everything to start selling, but can't get the product pages to dispaly correctly without cutting off the right hand side of the product box (the blue box that contains the "add to bag" button.

I have tried making my photos smaller (250px wide) - didn't help.
I have tried keeping my product descriptor sentences short, or starting a new line 2/3 accross the text box (in the set-up area) - didn't help.
I have tried altering the size of the html box on my site from 400 px all the way to 750 px wide - still doesn't help.

My frustration is building, my stupidity tolerance is dropping, and I am about ready to give up and pay for a different version that I don't like but I know doesn't have this issue, because this box doesn't exist!

I have selected "centre html widget" in my website html box. It makes no difference to my issue whether this box is checked or not (I have tried it both ways)

What I want is to narrow the gap between my product image and the product order box. Is this possible, or do I give up?

Help please!
  #2  
Old 10-03-2010, 08:04 AM
Miksuli's Avatar
Miksuli Miksuli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 80
Default

Is this the kind of problems you have?:
http://www.ecwid.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2894
  #3  
Old 10-03-2010, 08:18 AM
Qetzal's Avatar
Qetzal Qetzal is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,847
Default

Please post a link to your store and a screen-shot of this issue.
__________________
Eugene K.
Ecwid Team

@ecwid | Facebook | Ecwid Knowledge Base
  #4  
Old 10-03-2010, 11:24 PM
Juli Stertern-Gill's Avatar
Juli Stertern-Gill Juli Stertern-Gill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qetzal View Post
Please post a link to your store and a screen-shot of this issue.
Here you go...

1st is width issue... fairly self-explanatory:



2nd is how to access the store (as it's not live yet);

url is www.sweetcupcakesandtreats.com.au

click thru on welcome
click onthe lamppost
on 2nd screen there is a pale pink circle in top right corner - click thru to store

  #5  
Old 10-03-2010, 11:25 PM
Juli Stertern-Gill's Avatar
Juli Stertern-Gill Juli Stertern-Gill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Grandma, thanks for the link, but I don't think it's the same issue (but then I'm a techno-twit, so can't be 100% positive that it's different!)
  #6  
Old 10-04-2010, 12:22 PM
Qetzal's Avatar
Qetzal Qetzal is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,847
Default

Thank you for the screenshots.
I see that the issue appears in Internet Explorer only. Right?

The problem is related to the way Ecwid integration code is embeded to your Flash site. What integration code did you use?
__________________
Eugene K.
Ecwid Team

@ecwid | Facebook | Ecwid Knowledge Base
  #7  
Old 10-04-2010, 09:58 PM
Juli Stertern-Gill's Avatar
Juli Stertern-Gill Juli Stertern-Gill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I used the product information code from the ecwid front page:



Yes, I am using IE8.
  #8  
Old 10-05-2010, 03:20 PM
Qetzal's Avatar
Qetzal Qetzal is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,847
Default

Your Ecwid store is embedded to your flash site using an iframe. This iframe includes and shows this page: http://www.flashquix.com/embeds/468b...ter&valign=top

This page doesn't have any correct doctype defined, so it makes IE8 show the page in a wrong way. All other browsers work OK.

As a quick workaround, please try to add this custom CSS to your Ecwid theme:

HTML Code:
div.ProductBrowser-1 {
 width:430px;
}
__________________
Eugene K.
Ecwid Team

@ecwid | Facebook | Ecwid Knowledge Base
  #9  
Old 10-06-2010, 11:47 PM
Juli Stertern-Gill's Avatar
Juli Stertern-Gill Juli Stertern-Gill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the update.

To clarify, I need to copy the entire std theme into the customiser section, then just add your updated code, and save it?

Or, do I need to find the original piece of code that you new piece relates to, and overwrite with your new code, (after copying in to the custom section) then save?

This may seem silly, but I really am flying by the seat of my pants when it comes to code, site building etc... so you'll need to adopt the KISS method for me!!

Thanks!
  #10  
Old 10-07-2010, 11:54 AM
Qetzal's Avatar
Qetzal Qetzal is offline
Ecwid Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10,847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juli Stertern-Gill View Post
Thanks for the update.

To clarify, I need to copy the entire std theme into the customiser section, then just add your updated code, and save it?

Or, do I need to find the original piece of code that you new piece relates to, and overwrite with your new code, (after copying in to the custom section) then save?

This may seem silly, but I really am flying by the seat of my pants when it comes to code, site building etc... so you'll need to adopt the KISS method for me!!

Thanks!
You should create a new theme and add only the code I posted there. Then enable this theme and check your store.
__________________
Eugene K.
Ecwid Team

@ecwid | Facebook | Ecwid Knowledge Base
 
The information in this thread might be outdated
If the solution did not help, please, check our Help Portal or contact Ecwid Team.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11. Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.