Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2010, 05:45 PM
anton.askenstrom's Avatar
anton.askenstrom anton.askenstrom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Default Is there a way to edit the stocks of all products at a time without going in to each single product?

Hi!
I have a question whether it is possible to open one page and then edit the inventory, which means I don't have to go in to each single product?
Sincerly
Anton
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2010, 06:22 PM
Mike C's Avatar
Mike C Mike C is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 470
Send a message via AIM to Mike C Send a message via Yahoo to Mike C Send a message via Skype™ to Mike C
Default

Hi Anton, you can do it through importing of CSV files. I had the same question about updating prices all at once. Once you have your products, just export them to CSV, modify the csv so that it just has the name, sku and quantity, update the quantity column and re-import the file. Make sure not to check the box to erase the existing products though!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2010, 08:11 PM
anton.askenstrom's Avatar
anton.askenstrom anton.askenstrom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Default Thanks! But what is "Csv files"?

Thanks! But what is "Csv files"?
Sincerly
Anton
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2010, 08:20 PM
Mike C's Avatar
Mike C Mike C is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 470
Send a message via AIM to Mike C Send a message via Yahoo to Mike C Send a message via Skype™ to Mike C
Default

See here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comma-separated_values

If you're not experienced with CSV files, it can be easy to mess up. Best to work with them in a program like Excel or OpenOffice Calc How many products do you need to update the quantity for?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2010, 08:52 PM
anton.askenstrom's Avatar
anton.askenstrom anton.askenstrom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Default About 40 products

I have about 60 products in stock and would like to view aproximately 40-50 of them.
Thanks for helping me!
I really do appreciate it!
Anton
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2010, 09:00 PM
Mike C's Avatar
Mike C Mike C is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 470
Send a message via AIM to Mike C Send a message via Yahoo to Mike C Send a message via Skype™ to Mike C
Default

You're welcome! I use OpenOffice.org Calc for all my CSV related work. It's very easy to work with so I recommend it highly
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2010, 11:03 PM
slice's Avatar
slice slice is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 695
Default

When you do this, how do you make it start tracking the stock? Is that a general setting or product-by-product?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2010, 11:06 PM
Mike C's Avatar
Mike C Mike C is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 470
Send a message via AIM to Mike C Send a message via Yahoo to Mike C Send a message via Skype™ to Mike C
Default

When you go to edit the product in the Control Panel, it has a Stock Control section, I think if you import a CSV file and a quantity is specified, it automatically selects the "limited to" setting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.